Reviews

What people are saying about Blacksmiths Arms




Blacksmiths Arms - Rating 4/5

Very good accommodation, atmosphere and food. The owners and staff were friendly and helpfulWe very much enjoyed our stay

Response

Thank you for your very positive review. Hope to see you again sometime. Regards Don Jackson

Reviewer:Mr. Bernard Maull | Mon 17th Jul 2017


Long weekend break- Rating 5/5

We had a lovely lweekend at the Blacksmiths Arms. Staff were welcoming and friendly. The food and accomadation was lovely and my daughter and I would not hesitate in recommending a stay here to anyone. Well done Blacksmiths Arms.

Response

Thank you for your kind review. Regards Don Jackson

Reviewer:John Bassham | Tue 11th Jul 2017


Great Venue - Rating 5/5

If you want great food, a wide range of beers comfortable, clean rooms and a warm friendly welcome from the family owners this is the place to be.

Reviewer:Mr. Alistair Sutton | Fri 7th Jul 2017


Blacksmiths Arms, Talkin, Brampton, Cumbria. - Rating 5/5

A fantastic family run Country Pub, and it shows. Great food, beer and company, highly recommended and set in a beautiful environment.

Response

HiThank you very much for your kind review.Regards

Reviewer:JOHN SALTER | Tue 4th Jul 2017


Recent short stay - Rating 4/5

Comfortable accomodation with great food.Food 5 out of 5.Accomodation 3 out of 5

Reviewer:Nick O\'Byrne | Mon 3rd Jul 2017


One Night Stay - Rating 5/5

This was the third time we have stayed here and it was excellent again especially the Scots Fillet Steak

Reviewer:Mr. Rodney Williams | Tue 20th Jun 2017


Delightful - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay,very comfortable accommodation and excellent food.

Reviewer:Sheila Stuart | Mon 19th Jun 2017


Homely overnight stop in the dales - Rating 5/5

Warm friendly welcome, good home made food and good ale which will appeal to walkers and lovers of the outdoors. Accommodation is clean and homely and at very reasonable rates. Will definitely revisit.

Reviewer:Nick Ward | Fri 9th Jun 2017


Golf Trip - Rating 5/5

Perfect Location for our stay to play golf

Reviewer:Michael Clark | Fri 2nd Jun 2017


Brampton - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely time,everyone was so helpful and friendly.Rooms and food was really good great value for money.Will go back again.

Reviewer:dianne konieczka | Thu 1st Jun 2017


Golf trip - Rating 4/5

Situated close to brampton golf club this quiet little b&b is perfect to unwind after 36holes. Friendly staff greet you on arrival and you are left to unwind with a nice pint in the bar or beer garden. Breakfast is very nice indeed and I\'m yet to sample dinner due to golfing commitments. Will return again.

Reviewer:Mr. graeme purdue | Tue 30th May 2017


Touring the Kielder with friends - Rating 4/5

Excellent warm welcome. The pub and rooms were immaculately clean. The food in the restaurant was very good however the huge portions overwhelmed us at dinner. Visitors must take time out to see the local Tarn!

Reviewer:Mark Hemingway | Tue 30th May 2017


Good place to stay - Rating 4/5

Warm reception from the locals and staff as we walked into the bar area. Clean and bright place to stay. The breakfast was very good. We had an evening meal also which was good. Nice but small choice of ales. Friendly place.The room was large enough, clean and bright. No or very little noise from the bar below.A really nice place to stay and visit the lovely countryside.The question we always ask ourselves is “Would we stay here again?” The answer is absolutely YES.

Reviewer:David Wright | Fri 26th May 2017


perfect - Rating 5/5

friendly, welcoming and with a nice warm open fire - perfect to sit next to and enjoy a pint after a long day

Reviewer:Joseph Edmonds | Mon 24th Oct 2016


Very friendly - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay. Breakfast good but no veggie sausages for breakfast hence only good.

Reviewer:Mr. William Thomas | Tue 11th Oct 2016


long weekend - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Kenneth Williams | Tue 11th Oct 2016


Cosy well presented County Pub - Rating 4/5

A friendly pub with character and providing good meals.The breakfast was excellent.The B&B Double room was very comfortable with updated bathroom.

Reviewer:G Perry | Tue 4th Oct 2016


Excellent accomadation. - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable stay. Bed very comfortable, room facilities were just right. Excellent food and beers. Staff polite and friendly. We can highly recommend this Inn.

Reviewer:Mr. Raymond Smith | Sun 2nd Oct 2016


Great place - Rating 5/5

Very cosy, welcoming and comfortable.

Reviewer:Mrs. Barbara Scragg | Thu 29th Sep 2016


blacksmiths again - Rating 5/5

fourth time we have stayed here visiting relatives.great pub,friendly helpful staff.excellent meal on night time, and good breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. stuart mcmurray | Tue 27th Sep 2016


Comfortable, charming - Rating 4/5

We have been touring UK by car and have been from Orkney to Wales. We stay mainly at B&B. Blacksmiths Arms is a charmingly old authentic Inn and Pub. The room was newly redone, clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The wifi was spotty but really you are on vacation and that is not critical.

Reviewer:Debra McConkey | Mon 26th Sep 2016


An excellent country retreat. - Rating 5/5

What a brilliant find. We couldn\'t have wished for a better place and equally excellent staff and owners. Our room was tastefully furnished with a lovely view over the tranquil village green. Breakfast was well cooked and delicious, the choice of evening meals was wide with a selection of \"specials\"changed regularly. The wines were priced sensibly and the food was all home cooked using the best ingredients. The choice of real ales was also good, plus a wide selection of gins!The Blacksmiths Arms is the ideal base to visit Hadrian\'s Wall and other local attractions. We are already planning our next visit. Thank you everyone at the Blacksmith\'s Arms for making our visit that little bit special!

Reviewer:Geoffrey Rees | Thu 15th Sep 2016


Relaxed and reliable country inn. - Rating 5/5

Once again we had a wonderful stay at the Blacksmiths Arms. Clean and comfortable room, a great nights sleep and fabulous food in a stunning location with friendly staff. What more can you want. We will be back.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jill Hodge | Mon 12th Sep 2016


Two night stay with family last weekend - Rating 5/5

Really comfortable family rooms which were well equipped. A substantial breakfast was available. Excellent choice of menu in the evening and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kathleen Ferris | Wed 7th Sep 2016


very nice! - Rating 5/5

I picked the Blacksmiths arms to stay so I could visit Vindolanda and I was not disappointed the Room and pub restaurant were smashing all the staff are very friendly and the hosts Anne and Don brilliant, the food is very well cooked and hot the room very clean with all the usual amenities plus some I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone knowing you will be more than happy

Reviewer:Philip McWatt | Mon 5th Sep 2016


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

What a lovely place to stay.Very friendly staff and management. The longest food menu for a pub you could wish for.Breakfast was very tasty and plentiful. I would highly recommend this pub/hotel to everyone

Reviewer:Colin Hyde | Sun 4th Sep 2016


Warm welcome in a country village - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable stay at the Blacksmiths. Breakfast excellent - full english with the most enormous, delicious sausages I have ever encountered at breakfast.Very friendly and welcoming - excellent music selection (for people of a certain age). Spent the evening naming the songs and groups. Clean, well maintained rooms with all of the amenities you would expect.

Reviewer:Ray Head | Sat 3rd Sep 2016


Great Inn in a beautiful location - Rating 5/5

Lovely rooms full of character, food good and the Inn is located in a gorgeous village. Lots to see and do nearby. Loved it!

Reviewer:Shoena Fryer | Fri 2nd Sep 2016


Really enjoyed our stay at the Blacksmiths Arms - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at the family run Blacksmiths Arms. We were made to feel like friends rather than paying guests. The room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was huge. The food was good and the breakfasts a \'full English\'. We recommend this as a place to stay.

Reviewer:Eve Scott | Sat 27th Aug 2016


Over night stay - Rating 5/5

The other reviews were spot on, it is as good as people have said on trip advisor.We would defiantly use it again.

Reviewer:Mark Macleod | Mon 22nd Aug 2016


Well pleased - Rating 5/5

Great place good food,can\'t fault itGood place to relax

Reviewer:Les Blackburn | Fri 19th Aug 2016


Visit - Rating 5/5

We were made welcome on arrival. Rooms spotless. Everything you need. Breakfast was first class, plenty, to eat and as much tea or coffee you want.

Reviewer:Jean Sanders | Mon 15th Aug 2016


great little find - Rating 5/5

Wonderful couple own this pub. Staff I found were all great. Room was loverly nice size and good facilties. Food breakfast was one of the best I have ever had. Evening meals were delicious. In the middle of no where but a beautiful village and a great base to vist surrounding area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Ruth Fountain | Wed 3rd Aug 2016


A very pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

A very comfortable stay, good service, friendly staff and good food. The room was however noisy due to being over the bar, this did not bother us but a light sleeper may have found it difficult.

Reviewer:James Sudworth | Sun 31st Jul 2016


Welcoming and friendly - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant stay. The room was clean and comfortable. We had eaten here before so knew the food was good. Breakfast was perfect, obviously quality produce and cooked well.(even the tomato had been skinned the second morning!) Thank you :)

Reviewer:Ian Hobson | Sat 30th Jul 2016


Superb stay - Rating 5/5

Great location, room, food and staff.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Kenneth Simpson | Fri 29th Jul 2016


Returning - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable two nights. Second visit. Good location, Friendly hosts &atmosphere. Great beer &food. Will be back!

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Foggo | Thu 28th Jul 2016


Superb - Rating 5/5

My second visit in a short space of time and just as enjoyable as the first. Was given the same room as requested and the service and welcome was first class. The food was excellent and the real ales were served in excellent condition. I will return the next time i am in the area.

Reviewer:Michael Phillips | Thu 21st Jul 2016


Great place to stop, good food and friendly staff.- Rating 5/5

Thoroughly recommend the Blacksmiths Arms a great overnight stay and excellent value for money.

Reviewer:Mark Ford | Thu 14th Jul 2016


ideal overnight pub stop - Rating 5/5

En -route to Argyll - used Blacksmith Arms as overnight stop. Proved great choice;room, food, real ales and staff all tip top.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Paige | Mon 11th Jul 2016


Great Pub - Rating 5/5

This village pub is a great place to stay. We used it to break our M^/M&$ journey and welcomed the quiet countryside respite from the motorway. Friendly welcome, good food and excellent real ales - wish it was nearer to visit more often!

Reviewer:Mr. Ken Gellion | Tue 28th Jun 2016


Convenient and Comfortable- Rating 5/5

For a village pub this is a great find. Friendly staff, excellent food, clean and comfortable

Reviewer:Mrs. Jennie Long | Tue 14th Jun 2016


Blacksmiths Arms - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming retreat in a picturesque Cumbrian village - superb food and very friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewer:Frances Davies | Tue 14th Jun 2016


Excellent pub/restaurant- Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay whilst walking Hadrian\'s Wall.Good food, great beer, comfortable room.Above all, really personal and welcoming service.My only criticism would be that the website does not do the Blacksmiths Arms justice.Better photos and menus visible online would improve things.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris Humphreys | Sun 5th Jun 2016


Passing Through - Rating 5/5

We found the Blacksmiths Arms staff and hosts very friendly and welcoming.The room (Room 7)was very clean and comfortable with an extremely large ensuite.The evening meal with a extensive menu was very nice and reasonably priced also a decent sized tasty breakfast.Personally I couldnt fault this Hostelry.

Reviewer:John Tully | Tue 31st May 2016


A venue with potential but significant shortcomings - Rating 3/5

Overall the pub fell short of expectations.The staff were helpful and friendly and the venue was excellent, but we had a small annex bedroom with a very poor mattress and a bathroom which would benefit from a serious upgrade.The food was standard pub fare and the whole bar/dining experience was very second rate.This establishment has a lot of potential, but it is still to be realised!

Reviewer:John Refausse | Tue 31st May 2016


very welcoming - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at the B.A. The owners are very friendly people and show a genuine interest in their guests. The food is great with a brilliant breakfast. We will definately come back!!

Reviewer:E Goosen | Mon 30th May 2016


Great location with excellent hospitality - Rating 5/5

The accomodation was ideal and the breakfasts and meals were very good. I was made very welcome and will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Michael Phillips | Fri 27th May 2016


a great hotel - Rating 5/5

friendly comfortable hotel with great food and excellent service and great location comfy bed would recommend this hotel situated in beautiful countryside

Reviewer:Philip Dean | Mon 9th May 2016


Just returned from a perfect stay - Rating 5/5

My brother and I enjoyed walking on and around Hadrian\'s Wall over three days it was perfect. The Blacksmiths Arms was a fantastic place to stop, the owners and staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, they even take time to to talk to you and make you very welcome. Food quality was excellent, cleanliness was ten out of ten. Overall it\'s a place you are sad to leave but happy in the knowledge you will return.

Reviewer:Maurice Cassidy | Fri 1st Apr 2016


A positive shoe-in - Rating 4/5

The Blacksmiths is ideal for a short break with good comfortable room, lovely food and realistic prices. It hit the spot!

Reviewer:Thomas Stout | Wed 30th Mar 2016


Superb - Rating 5/5

Stayed here because.friend was holding significant birthday here. Welcome, atmosphere, food etc., was all brilliant. Will definitely stay here again in f only for the breakfast!

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Frost | Mon 25th Jan 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

The welcome was warm and relaxed. The room clean, comfortable and well-appointed. Food was good with large portions. Beer well-kept. Breakfast was possibly the best ever. Definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Coralie Murphy | Sun 10th Jan 2016


A revisit - Rating 5/5

Good atmosphereGood food and aleClean, comfortable and spacious roomsVery friendly staff.What more can anyone wish for in a country inn.

Reviewer:Mr. Douglas Millar | Mon 23rd Nov 2015


Blacksmith Arms - Rating 5/5

Excellent location for a relaxing break.Accommodation is is very spacious and comfortable, meals were very good value for money.Would willingly recommend to anyone wanting a qiet break.

Reviewer:Peter McColl | Sun 8th Nov 2015


Meeting relatives - Rating 5/5

All one likes to see in a country pub :cheery lightingand open fire in bar area, very friendly staff welcome, and a goodcomfortable and well equipped bedroom. A good range of dishes on the menufor evening meal and a breakfast that every thing one could wish for.

Reviewer:Dr. David Clark | Wed 4th Nov 2015


Blacksmith Arms - Rating 5/5

Very nice stay ,excellent breakfast

Reviewer:Mr. PeterNairne | Sat 5th Sep 2015


Exceptional Customer Service - Rating 4/5

Exceptional and friendly customer service from all staff.Superb food and cosy surroundings. Bedroom adequate but required more table space and hooks please. An all round very good stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda Giles | Tue 1st Sep 2015


What more can you ask for? - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay. We travelled with 2 young children and the staff of the Blacksmiths Arms was so lovely to give us a bigger room. The room was very quiet and the beds comfy. The cooked breakfast was perfect and we would return again for a weekend break.

Reviewer:Ms. Ursula Friede | Tue 1st Sep 2015


Loved it - Rating 5/5

We stayed a night during a tour of The Wall and The Lakes. This is one of two Hotels used and by far the best for quality, food, rooms service and atmosphere. We would definitely go back and I can recommend it whole heartedly. We chose a Saturday night that must have been the busiest the pub/restaurant had seen for some time, so there was a little delay on food but hardly noticeable and to be honest the staff dealt with it so well it didn\'t matter. Room was nicely appointed (what a shower!!), comfy, clean AND the window opened properly.

Reviewer:Ian Ludwig | Tue 1st Sep 2015


wonderful weekend - Rating 5/5

Just home after spending a lovely relaxing weekend at the Blacksmiths Arms. Our room was very comfortable and the food was amazing. Will be back next year.

Reviewer:Anne Shirley | Mon 31st Aug 2015


Blacksmith Arms - Rating 5/5

Back again to a great welcome from all the staff the accommodation and food excellent as always.What a gantry this Inn has you are spoiled for choice will be back soon.A little gem in Cumbria

Reviewer:Mr. John Anderson | Wed 20th May 2015


Our 3rd visit and not the last - Rating 4/5

Friendly welcome in this busy pub in a quiet pretty village. Comfortable accommodation and nice atmosphere with decent beer and varied menu. Food may suffer from too much choice so merits 3 and a half out of 5 stars, but good breakfast.

Reviewer:Helen Peel | Tue 5th May 2015


Our stay - Rating 5/5

Found via the internet, this pub turned out to be absolutely excellent in every way, the room, the meals, the massive breakfasts, the beer, the hospitality, and the general friendliness. Also an ideal place to stay for studying the Wall.

Reviewer:David Adams | Wed 15th Apr 2015


Great place to stay - Rating 4/5

Really friendly welcome, great food. I\'ll be back soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Derek Platt | Thu 26th Mar 2015


1night accommodation- Rating 4/5

Chose this family run B&B on location, beautiful village setting, good food and room excellent, all of the rooms have been refurbished and upgraded to a high standard so the stay was even better than we thought we would have had, all round a good experience and we wouldn\'t hesitate to book again.

Reviewer:Charles Robinson | Mon 16th Mar 2015


Wedding Anniversary and Birthday treat - Rating 5/5

Arriving at the Blacksmith\'s Arms cold and muddy, it was lovely to be met and taken to our room with no fuss. Evening meals started at six, we ate in the bar although there was a lovely dining room if you wanted something more formal.Meals were so nice we decided there and then to eat in house on Saturday as well.Breakfast comes well recommended too. All staff were polite and helpful, resulting in a relaxing stay.The room was comfortable and clean, we would certainly stop here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Colin Smith | Mon 16th Mar 2015


Excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

Fourth or fifth time we\'ve stayed, comfortable accomodation, good breakfast and dinner, very reasonable prices.Owners and staff are very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard Knowles | Tue 10th Mar 2015


B&B STAY - Rating 5/5

A PERFECT PLACE TO STAY,TOTALLY COMFORTABLE BEDROOM,EXCELLENT BREAKFAST AND WARM FRIENDLY OWNERS.WE WILL RETURN.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Runton | Mon 5th Jan 2015


friendly comfortable pub, great room - Rating 5/5

Great pub in a tiny village surrounded by beautiful country. Friendly staff, lovely good-sized room with tv and ensuite shower and a window overlooking the centre of the village. Very comfortable bed. I prefer a thicker duvet but the room was very warm (in midwinter) with an easily-controllable heater. Seriously good full english. For the price it\'s excellent value. It seems to be the hub of the neighbourhood, I can see why people come back and if I return to the area it would be the obvious choice.They also do lunch and dinner with an above-average pub menu.

Reviewer:Mr. Patrick Nicholson | Thu 1st Jan 2015


blacksmiths arms - Rating 5/5

excellent stay. very comfortable room. Food excellent. will be back soon.

Reviewer:Peter Dawson | Mon 17th Nov 2014


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

My wife and I only stayed one night, however if we had not been tied to a strict schedule we would have tried to stay longer. The room we had was spotlessly clean, large and airy with a settee in front of the TV (a little lounge) and the pub and meals were delightful. I would recommend this pub to my most discerning friends.

Reviewer:Christopher Wiseman | Mon 13th Oct 2014


Four out for- Rating 5/5

We were a group of former business colleagues who had not met for many years! One of the group bob Wilson has stayed in the blacksmiths arms several times before and as we were golfing at Silloth he suggested we stay at the blacksmiths arms, the welcome, accoodation, food, service and value for money were excellent. I have no hesitation in recornmending and if back on area for business or pleasure I would be back!! Thank you for accommodating us and good to go to a bar with good beer!

Reviewer:Mr. John Ritchie | Sun 12th Oct 2014


Saturday 27th September 2014 - Rating 5/5

Friendly welcome appreciated. Room spotless.Food delicious. What more could we want?D &M Millar

Reviewer:Mr. Douglas Millar | Sun 5th Oct 2014


JD Dumfries - Rating 5/5

Absolutely first class in all respects - excellent value for money.

Reviewer:John Drabble | Sun 5th Oct 2014


what a haven - Rating 5/5

This was one of the highlights of our trip.Fantastic hosts, great beer and very comfortable rooms

Reviewer:Jeff Williams | Tue 23rd Sep 2014


This is what a pub with rooms should be like ! - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for 2 nights to attend a wedding at nearby Lanacost Priory. Friday night was very busy with mainly local folk but we had an excellent meal. Our room (1) was not very large but the bed was very comfortable and the shower excellent. Breakfast was cooked to order, so rather slow, but delicious! On Saturday the bar was still open for a nightcap at midnight - much appreciated! The owners and their staff wee really friendly. A gem, ideally situated for exploring Hadrian\'s wall.

Reviewer:Sheila Crossman | Fri 19th Sep 2014


Nostagic trip. - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Blacksmiths Arms.I stayed there 50 years ago and learned to swim in the local tarn.We were made to feel very welcome and particularlyenjoyed thebreakfasts.

Reviewer:Patricia Borlace | Tue 16th Sep 2014


Wall walk finale - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a superb stay, superb accommodation and breakfast.The location was great.Thanks also for your tolerance of our small but exited group !!

Reviewer:John Rowlands | Mon 8th Sep 2014


Short stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay. Very well appointed rooms, super freshlycooked breakfast and an excellent evening meal.Pretty villagelocation and nice walks round Talkin Tarn. Helpful , cheerful staff.Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewer:Jill Bailey | Wed 7th May 2014


Second Stay - Rating 4/5

The proof of the pudding is.......would I return.....yes I would !!!

Reviewer:Mr. Gary Thomas | Wed 7th May 2014


excellent - Rating 5/5

food top notch, room comfortable really enjoyed the stay, would thouroughly recommend.

Reviewer:Lesley Harris | Sun 4th May 2014


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Fantastic Fantastic fantastic,You guys could not have been more friendly and helpful.Food amazing rest amazing and thanks for doing our washing, We finally finishe peddaling at six thirty last night and the stay in your Hotel made it all the more bearable.We will, for sure, Be Back.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Stewart | Mon 28th Apr 2014


We will be back - Rating 5/5

Very warm welcome. Excellent food with a wide choice of meals in the evening. Very comfortable room and spotlessly clean. Set in beautiful country surroundings. We will recommend this to others.

Reviewer:SUSAN WOOD | Sun 20th Apr 2014


special weekend silver wedding .nearby - Rating 5/5

welcomed warm Greeting spacious room with all comforts required.Good celebration meal for 10 on the saturday. The family team management is consistent and well run. Not forget the breakfast.All food I could recommend . The important thing now is keep it as it is Regards Gillian Harrison.

Reviewer:Mrs. Gillian Harrison | Mon 31st Mar 2014


Excellent in every way - Rating 5/5

Great atmosphere, great hosts, great food, great beer, great breakfasts, lovely rooms.What more could anyone wish from a lovely country inn?We've been here before and we'll definitely be back again.

Reviewer:Mr. William Cooper | Mon 10th Mar 2014


The Place to stay - Rating 5/5

Once again the most fantastic stay, accommodation 5 star, food 5 star, staff 5 star, we just could not find one fault, the atmosphere was fantastic and the location just perfect, the owners know how to run the very best establishment and you could only ever wish to come back once visited, we have now had two weekends and we are planning our next and next and next, cant wait.Well done Blacksmith Arms do not change anything you are doing you have it so right 100% The surround area is also so very perfect from the manor house and church next door and the very quaint village houses with the most fabulous walks across the fells and around the lake something for everyone and perfect locations and base for all other attractions if you can tare yourself away from the place and the atmosphere.

Reviewer:Mrs. Henia Slack | Sun 2nd Feb 2014


Our stay - Rating 5/5

We had a one night stay early October and found the whole experience enjoyable.Attentive hosts, good food, lovely room just off beer garden. Would defiantly stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Bird | Sun 3rd Nov 2013


lovely place to stay- Rating 4/5

I arrived early evening and was given a really friendly welcome, my room was lovely, very clean and quiet. I did explain that I would be back quite late and checked that this would be ok. However when I arrived back at around 1am I couldn't get in as the front door had been locked from the inside, thankfully someone answered the phone and let me in straight away. Overall I would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Miss. Samantha Law | Fri 1st Nov 2013


Lovely Pub good accom. - Rating 5/5

If you are looking for a friendly pub to stay in with great beers and excellent food - look no further than the Blacksmiths.The accommodation is simple and spotlessly clean the food is terrific.

Reviewer:Mr. Simon Gaunt | Tue 15th Oct 2013


October 2013 - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Friendly hosts, good bar menu and attentive service. The rooms were comfortable and fresh. I would definitely recommend a stay. Great area to visit if you've never been to north-east Cumbria. Beautiful scenery with walks to suit all abilities.

Reviewer:Mrs. Geraldine Gordon | Sat 12th Oct 2013


Blacksmiths Arms - Rating 4/5

Very enjoyable one-night stay.Room comfortable;good bathroom facilities, tea/coffee making facilities.Good food in the bar/restaurant.Extremely friendly staff.

Reviewer:Mrs. Iris Butcher | Sat 12th Oct 2013


Blacksmith Arms - Rating 5/5

Great stay, good food and clean and comfortable room at a good price

Reviewer:Mrs. Gwen Greenwood | Thu 19th Sep 2013


Talkin weekend - Rating 4/5

My wife and I had a wonderful break spending a couple of nights at the Blacksmiths. We were made welcome from the moment we stepped through the door. Great atmosphere and cracking food not to mention a good pint of ale. Look forward to our next visit.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Dowell | Tue 17th Sep 2013


Great place to stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly welcome , lovely room,good selection of real ales.Wonderful breakfast. Will be back

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie Best | Fri 13th Sep 2013


weekend break - Rating 5/5

The food and accommodation were excellent would recommend you sample the malt whiskey

Reviewer:Mr. John Anderson | Fri 13th Sep 2013


we had a good night - Rating 5/5

we arrived to a warm welcome,the room was very clean &tidy.we had a meal&that was good value,the locals were very nice people.the breakfast was good.would go again any time.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith Haworth | Mon 2nd Sep 2013


SUPERB! - Rating 5/5

Booked last minute - no problems (superb service and price);VERY friendly locals / staff / pub / and restaurant. Great atmosphere, food was first class (evening meal and breakfast). Accommodation / facilities first rate. WOULD RECOMMEND, will return. The whole experience - 5 STAR plus - fantastic.

Reviewer:Mr. Jon Foster | Sun 18th Aug 2013


Blacksmirhs Arms - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and helpful staffOutstanding country location

Reviewer:Mr. William Tait | Fri 2nd Aug 2013


Happy Weekend - Rating 5/5

Charming village pub with a very warm welcome.

Reviewer:Mr. John Christian | Tue 23rd Jul 2013


Working in Area - Rating 4/5

Great Accomodation, comfortable bed, good food and real ale, plus friendly staff.I enjoyed my stay.I would have no problem recommending this establishment to my friends.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Nolan | Fri 19th Jul 2013


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Everything was great from the first appearance upon arriving to the breakfast when leaving.Have a great season and hope to return some day.Mike

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Bazany | Sun 7th Jul 2013


An absolute gem - well worth straying off the beaten track! - Rating 5/5

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying (all to briefly) at the Blacksmith's Arms.We received a genuinely warm welcome on arrival and it was obvious from the outset that nothing was too much trouble.Our room was very comfortable with a lovely view of the village green/crossroads.We had a bar meal, which was delicious and very good value for money.We'll definitely be back to this lovely inn.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie Roxburgh | Thu 4th Jul 2013


Idyllic spot! - Rating 4/5

In many ways a delightful 3 days spent at the Blacksmiths Arms. Such a friendly family, great location with fabulous views, nothing seemed too much trouble. Whilst the basics were great, I think an update in bedroom decor and more choice at breakfast (fruit/yoghurt/porridge) would make it a five star venue

Reviewer:Ms. Claire Barnes | Tue 25th Jun 2013


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

Excellent comfortable accommodation. Food menu extensive and good value.Friendly atmosphere. Would recommend.Hope to stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Joan Platt | Mon 24th Jun 2013


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Wonderful surroundings, very comfortable accommodation, great food, sumptuous beer and most of all, very friendly owners and staff. What more can I say!!

Reviewer:Mr. Colin Day | Sun 30th Dec 2012


Very Pleasant Stay - Rating 4/5

We had an overnight stay here on our way south , travelling from Scotland. This family run hotel was very friendly comfortable and the food was fantastic.The surrounding area is beautiful and great for walking.

Reviewer:Mr. Neil Angus | Mon 5th Nov 2012


Overnight stay. - Rating 4/5

very impressed with the room, the food and the good variety of wines and beers. The young lady serving on the evening was excellent.Breakfast was slow, but fortunately we were not in a hurry.

Reviewer:Mr. Edward Roberts | Sun 14th Oct 2012


stay at the blacksmiths arms- Rating 4/5

the room was pleasant, clean well apointed and spaciouse. the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was tasty with generious portions.

Reviewer:Mrs. DawnButler| Sun 14th Oct 2012


Second visit! - Rating 5/5

We have now stayed on two occasions and continue to have a very high regard for this friendly, well-run inn. Comfortable rooms and nice food and a great selection of beers!

Reviewer:Mr. Philip Boorman | Thu 27th Sep 2012


Wonderful Break - Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome from the moment we walked into the Blacksmith Arms.The room was large and very comfortable.Spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. The food was well cooked with a good menu and excellent service. The breakfast was even better, if that was possible, and all freshly cooked.If there was one complaint it was that the bed was a bit hard - but that is only our view.We will be visiting again and highly recommend the Blacksmith Arms.

Reviewer:Mrs. Irene Smith | Tue 25th Sep 2012


Good food, beer and location - Rating 5/5

We wanted somewhere to stay, near to Penrith and the Lakes and found this little surprise package. Very nice owners and staff, comfy room-called garden room-wide choice of food including specials and extremely good Cumbrian breakfast. A short walk from Talkin Tarn and easy access to where we wanted to be. Will definitely return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen Peel | Tue 25th Sep 2012


overnight stay - Rating 4/5

We stayed one night as we were visiting friends in the area. Our room was very comfortable and dinner and breakfast excellent . service also very good. We would certainly stay again

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Brisbourne | Fri 21st Sep 2012


Great value - Rating 5/5

The best value for money we have had for a long time

Reviewer:Mr. John Johnson | Tue 18th Sep 2012


holiday - Rating 4/5

On entering the premises we were met by a friendly lady. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Everything was there that was needed plus extra. The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly, never ignoring you, always speaking and asking if everything was all right Nothing was any trouble to anybody. Mr Jackson booked us our taxi to take us to the wedding we were attending. Would highly recommend this establishment to all our family and friends.Hope to stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. Eric Kilpatrick | Sun 16th Sep 2012


excellent- Rating 4/5

really good value for money, lovely rooms ,quality towels and a decent shower. Food is very good, we had an evening meal as well and menu has agood choice and very well presented, good quality.(perhaps a better selection of veg would make it that bit better)For real country pub atmosphere cannot be beaten. Woke to the quietest place we have ever experienced.Lovely walks nearby

Reviewer:Mr. Lynn Bewley | Mon 6th Aug 2012


Great Break - Rating 4/5

nice inn, lovely food, friendly close enough to Hadrians Wall for a couple of amateur walkers, village really pretty

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen Carroll | Fri 3rd Aug 2012


July stay - Rating 5/5

as always good food and drink with staff always willing to help

Reviewer:Mr. John Anderson | Wed 25th Jul 2012


Blacksmiths Arms - Rating 4/5

Very enjoyable stay, good room, good meals and very hosptable staff

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Silk | Wed 25th Jul 2012


Hadrian's Wall Walk - Rating 4/5

We were made very welcome the room was adequate and the restaurant served a good selection of food.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Stone | Sun 8th Jul 2012


An enjoyable visit - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at The Blacksmiths Arms - friendly staff, good atmosphere and very comfortable accomodation. Sorry I had to leave so early the next morning (to participate in a sponsored walk on Hadrian's Wall) but my partner thoroughly enjoyed the cooked breakfast and I appreciated the packed lunch given to me in lieu of breakfast. We thoroughly recommend your establishment!

Reviewer:Ms. Claire Oxley | Mon 25th Jun 2012


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Blacksmiths during a walk of the Hadriand Wall path,not ideal for this as it's 6 miles from the wall.That aside I would stay here again without hesitation.Very friendly Management, extremely pleasant and attentive waitress. Dinner was fantastic (liver &bacon casserole) and very reasonably priced.The pub itself is warm, friendly &full of old world charm. Rooms were extremely clean and included the best breakfast I sampled all week, great value for money.All in all a very good experience in a lovely pub situated in a beautiful little village.Will be back

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Downward | Sun 27th May 2012


Great Night - Rating 5/5

Our Annual Golf Day was at local Brampton Golf Club, so natural place to stay for that, being only 5 minutes away. As per last 2 years we have stayed at the Blacksmiths Arms, hospitality was excellent. Varied and vast choice of items on the menu and food was superb! Nice choice of local Ales at the bar and pleasant surroundings.Bar area was very busy for a Thursday night, so popular with the locals.Room was nice and well appointed too.

Reviewer:Mr. ColinThomas | Sat 26th May 2012


stay - Rating 5/5

excellent, friendly, good food

Reviewer:Mr. Jeffrey Carr | Thu 24th May 2012


A hidden gem you bet your life it is. - Rating 5/5

The only thing warmer than the welcome you'll receive, Is the food from the restaurant. Ideally positioned for the Roman sites along Hadrians wall or equally the many walking trails. The accommodation is excellent clean and well maintained. The menu in the restaurant is wide and varied and yummy for my tummy.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Beardow | Wed 23rd May 2012


holiday - Rating 5/5

great as usual with exellent malt whisky

Reviewer:Mr. John Anderson | Thu 10th May 2012


Good experience - Rating 5/5

Lovely warm room with all that we needed. Nice location. Staff were always friendly and helpful. We couldn't have asked for more.

Reviewer:Mrs. Annette Homer | Tue 8th May 2012


Blacksmiths Arms Talkin - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay and everyone was very helpful in regard to any requests I had. The room I stayed in was lovely with a good shower. The food and beer was excellent. I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. John Elliott | Fri 4th May 2012


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat